Ready To Cut CNC Art

New Member with Waterjet

Randee S.

Good Morning All-

I am new here and am hoping to participate in your community. I am self taught in drawing cad images, and self taught on waterjet as well.

I was hoping someone could tell me how they were taught on this stuff? Did you go to university to learn cad and cam and machining, or were you also self taught?

Also, was wondering if anyone had suggestions on what size tips to purchase if I wanted to engrave using the waterjet. We own a Mitsubishi 6x12 60,000PSI table. Right now we use .013 orifice and about 1 lb of garnet/minute, depending on material. I am curious to see if we would be able to engrave rock/marble using a smaller orifice/tip or less garnet and pressure. Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks All!

Hello Randee,
I am also a self taught cad and water jet user. I have spent a reasonable amount of time experimenting with the water jet engraving stone and steel. I found using similar focusing tubes and garnet flow to what you described, running the machine at low pressure (15000psi) and 450mm or 18" per minute gets a fairly clean engraving. I also tried running it at high pressure with the focusing tube as high as possible above the material and at a similar speed created a very open sandblasted looking engraving. Quite effective for a shallow 3D look. Don't be afraid to experiment

camo1280- Thank you very much for your input. We have experimented a little with 1/2" a36 scrap steel, and the engraving came out looking a little more sandblasted than we liked. I will make the adjustments and see how it turns out. I am so excited to try this out!

I went to Technology School and learned CAD/CAM a long time ago. I have a CNC Plasma table and am self taught on that it is totally different from what I was taught.